Learning to Keep Hydrated

25 07 2012

I spent too many nights

rushing to fill up

the buckets of others

with precious water

sacred water

from my own well

thinking I had

an unlimited source

never once checking

the levels

of my own saturation.

 

A drought came.

The water in my well

was no more.

I could no longer

fill the bucket of others

when all I could gather

were handfuls of shells.

 

I was giving away

but wasn’t replenishing

the sacred reserves

entrusted to me.

I didn’t even drink

the rain

so graciously

poured down upon me.

 

So I boarded up my well.

I was out of commission

for I couldn’t give

the parched

a drop

while I was in transition.

 

I went to the sacred fount

and guzzled down

enormous amounts

of Living Water

that dribbled down my face

into the empty spaces.

I was too hesitant

to even wipe my mouth

greedy for not even

one drop

to be erased.

 

Now my reservoir

overflows with abundance

of hope

of joy

of love

that I must not

keep to myself.

 

I will stand guard

and keep on duty

for I must always

be taking in

more than I give out.

I must suction it in

on a daily basis.

 

So come now

and drink from my well

if yours is dry.

Let me pour you

a cup of water

for my water

is not my own.


Actions

Information

One response

27 07 2012
Larissa

This poem is exactly what I needed to read today. Thank you Faith, for your eloquent words of truth and hope.

Leave a comment